Cromwell Station is a vibrant and friendly neighborhood consisting of 200 townhome units built between 1989 and 1992.
The Cromwell Station neighborhood is located in the Minebank Run stream valley which has been settled since the early 1700s and used primarily for farming. Some mining took place in the area's at least four mines - hence the stream's name. Remnants of one of the old mines/quarries can be found in the wooded common area that is now part of the neighborhood.
In the late 1700s the use of agricultural lime to rejuvenate depleted fields became prevalent. The valley became a production area for building, whitewash, and agricultural lime, due to an easily quarried supply of Cockeysville marble, which readily turned into lime when cooked. Marble was dumped into the top of the kiln and burned using wood as fuel. The burned marble, now lime powder, was bagged at the base of the furnace. The Jenifer and Shanklin families operated the most recent lime kilns in the valley. What remains of the last eight of these lime kilns is still visible today in Cromwell Valley Park.
In 1901 the Maryland and Pennsylvania Railroad was established to transport passengers and freight between Baltimore and York, PA. The "Ma & Pa" Railroad ran through the valley where Cromwell Bridge Road is now. The Maryland portion of the line was abandoned in 1958. While there was never actually a "Cromwell Station" or stop it is thought that the name of the neighborhood comes from the history of the property and our close proximity to the old railroad which bordered the North end of the property.This website is provided as a service of the Cromwell Station Home Owners Association.